Conversion Tutorial - Visual Basic 4 - 6 To PowerBASIC

Started by Frederick J. Harris, September 04, 2014, 04:54:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frederick J. Harris

This tutorial series is for anyone who hasn't as of yet moved from old Visual Basic 4 - 6 to something more current, such as PowerBASIC.  In terms of my background for writing this, I spent most of my time in the middle to late 90s using these languages, and am still supporting as of 2014 an Enterprise level application I developed at that time.  I work in the forestry sector, and my applications are technical and business oriented in nature, with a lot of number crunching and network database access.  I began moving to PowerBASIC around 2000 or so, and consider PowerBASIC and C++ to be my main coding tools.  So I'll be writing this tutorial from the standpoint of someone who came to PowerBASIC pretty much lost at first.  And I'll not presuppose any particular programming knowledge of my readers (if there are still any VB6 users left who find their way here) beyond a knowledge of Visual Basic 4-6.  You'll need preferably PowerBASIC Windows 10 to follow along.  The Console Compiler will work too as will some of PowerBASIC's older compilers, but PB Win 10 would be best.  And the material I will present here will be how to get started using the Windows Api directly to create Windows programs.  As such I'll not be covering shortcut techniques to creating Windows programs using the Windows Dialog Engine, Dialog Boxes, or RAD (Rapid Application Development).